Board of Directors

Mac Drysdale


As Chairman of the Board since 2007, Mac has played a key role in the strategy development and growth of Seymour Whyte. Mac is a highly respected executive with a strong history as a Director and Chairman. Since 1991, he has served on the boards of Country Road Australia Ltd (Chairman), Country Road U.S.A Ltd, Mitre 10 Ltd, International Wool Secretariat (Chairman), Australian Wool Research and Promotion Organisation (Chairman), Wool International and Australian Wool Corporation (Chairman). With a long family history of grazing in Western Queensland, Mac continues to operate an organic grazing property in the Augathella region.

John Kirkwood


John is a senior construction professional with significant and highly regarded experience in the engineering and building construction industries. With his unique combination of technical and commercial skills, John was previously Executive General Manager at Leighton Contractors, and held senior roles within Abigroup Contractors, including four years as National Operations Director responsible for all business operations across Australia. John has more than 20 years’ experience in site-based roles and 21 years in senior managerial positions. John has worked extensively across concept to execution leadership, consistently delivering to tight budget and time constraints, and producing significant revenue and profit growth across business units. John has a keen focus on maintaining relationships across the industry, equally comfortable with boardrooms and in the field.

Don Mackay


Bringing his knowledge and experience in executive leadership, Don joined the Seymour Whyte Board in 2008. Don has a successful track record with his role as CEO and Managing Director of Australian Agricultural Company Limited, where he played a key role in the business growth, international expansion and capital raising for the company. As General Manager of Elders Limited (NSW), Don influenced the transformation of the business into a high performing industry leader. Don is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and in 2001 was awarded the Centenary Medal by the Prime Minister of Australia for Distinguished Service to Primary Industry.

Susan Johnston


Susan joined the board at the beginning of the 2012 financial year. With over 20 years’ experience in senior management, and 10 years as a company director, Susan has a track record for guiding organisations through change. As CEO of the Queensland Resources Council for two years, Susan led the transformation of Queensland's peak minerals and energy industry body. A member of various industry advisory and funding bodies, Susan has extensive experience in policy advisory roles in the energy and resource sector. Her proven safety improvement, external engagement and general management credentials are a valuable addition to the board. Susan has a strong background in safety, including as Head of Safety and Sustainable Development (Australia) at Anglo American. Susan has degrees in Arts and Law from the University of Queensland.

Christopher Greig


Christopher Greig joined as a non-executive director of Seymour Whyte on 1 January 2014. Chris has held senior executive and director roles in construction, mining and clean energy industries both in Australia and abroad over a career spanning 25 years including STG-FCB (as founder), JJ McDonald Group, Ensham Resources, ZeroGen, Western Metals, LogiCamms and Golding Contractors. He is a current director and Deputy Chairman of Gladstone Ports Corporation. Chris is Director of the UQ Energy Initiative at the University of Queensland. He has bachelors, masters and PhD degrees in Engineering from the University of Queensland and is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

David Wilson


David was appointed as a non-Executive Director in July 2015. David is a civil engineer with over 40 years’ experience, gained through senior executive roles with a number of recognised multinational companies. David was General Manager and Executive General Manager at Leighton Contractors for 14 years across numerous divisions and sectors. With the Concor Group of Companies, a public company incorporated in the Republic of South Africa, David spent 12 years in various senior roles including five years as Group Managing Director and CEO.

Rob Carr


Seymour Whyte appointed Rob Carr as an Executive Director in April 2014. Rob was a founding director and shareholder of Rob Carr Pty Ltd. His company was established in 1989 and is recognised as a leader in underground pipe and service installations for the energy and water utilities markets, with specialist capabilities in micro-tunnelling, pipe construction, deep shaft and service installations. Rob's experience, reputation and market insights will complement the Board's skills and experience and contribute to Seymour Whyte's overall growth strategy. In December 2016, Rob ceased to act as the Chief Executive of Rob Carr Pty Ltd but remained on the Board as a Non-Executive Director.

Julie Tealby


Julie joined Seymour Whyte in December 2016 as Company Secretary. Her previous roles include Company Secretary and Chief Risk Officer, Internal Audit Manager and CFO/Financial Controller of ASX-listed company Collection House Limited. She has also previously held Board and Company Secretary positions with Financial Basics Foundation and Financial Basic Community Foundation. Julie holds a Graduate Diploma in Corporate Governance, Bachelor of Business (Accountancy) and a Graduate Certificate in Internal Audit. She is a Fellow of the Governance Institute of Australia and Chartered Secretaries, a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, a member of CPA Australia and a professional member of the Institute of Internal Auditors.